Then * Now

Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2003/8:45 pm

madness

I haven't eaten today.

My body feels tighter, colder, stiff.

Hunger sharpens my bones.

I saw 'The Hours' at the cinema earlier. No other film has ever had a larger affect on me. Nicole Kidman played her role perfectly. I felt so close to the characters, the crazy women, the writers. The ones who drift across the room in draped clothing, with beads hanging around their necks. They wear sad expressions and mutter under their breath, all they want is freedom. Everyone wonders whats happening to them as they drown beneath their own dreams. Ink staines my fingertips in the same way. The madness of Virginia Woolf is softly, strung through my veins.

I have spent all evening listening to Tori Amos and jotting down words on white paper in scribbled lettering. Picking paracetemol from their plastic pods, trying to ease the pounding in my head. My eyes keep watering for no reason.

If my wings weren't broken, i swear, i could lift my feet and just fly away.