Then * Now

03.12.04/10:33 pm

desperation

I've just got back from walking in the freezing cold to the supermarket, to buy binge food and use their toilets to rid myself of dinner.

This shame is too much. I am branded, all over, with disgust.

I saw myself in car headlights, in the windows of shops as i passed, through the eyes of shady figures wandering across the park. The stars lit a dark sky above me, but i just looked down, down and away.

Desperation.

As i went to pay i found sweet wrappers in my pocket. Fumbling with numb embarrassment trying to find the right coins, i just wanted to dissolve into the ground. The cashier was younger than me, i think she used to go to my old school, in the year below. Made up with mascara tinted lashes and a shine of gloss, so pretty. What she must have thought of me - a mess, hair pulled back unbrushed, exposing bald patches, dirty.

On the way home, i passed three girls, all with shiny hair, laughing and talking on their way somewhere. A wave of intense sadness washed over me. Saturating me whole, near to tears, useless tears. What have i become? I started searching the black ground for twinkles, a shard of shattered glass, a smashed bottle thrown from the hands of a drunk. Yearning for a crystalised edge, yearning to bleed. I found nothing, but the urge is still here with me.

I am not doing very well at the moment.
Depressed,
anxious,
alone.

I am just in the way. I shouldn't be here. I am a liar and a failure. I am the defination of pathetic and it's all. My. Fault.

I didn't go to college today again, or to a English Literature trip to London on Thursday. I felt too exhausted, stomach churning with the affect of laxatives and wretching from the excess of ketones, poison through my veins. I have dropped to my lowest weight, reached the point i have been striving to for so long. It makes no difference, but i think i've always known that. I am still too big. I will never be small enough.

Mum just told me i smell of vomit. She knows what i've done. I denied it. I am terrible.

Now i have all this food, and it's already 10.30pm but i know what comes next, Half of me wants to just ignore it and try to sleep, but i know that as soon as my head hits the pillow the tick tock of venom will start. Taunting me, luring a force with no defence, I can't switch it off, not until i give in, stuff something into my mouth to dim the sound.

It really hurts. Isn't this pain enough already? I don't know. It won't ever change. I just don't know what i am doing.